Leipzig University recognises outstanding commitment in the supervision of doctoral researchers. Since 2021, the Supervisor Award has been presented every two years for excellent supervision.
Find information on the nomination and award procedure and the awardees here.

enlarge the image: Two award winners of the supervisor award smile at each other with flowers in their hands.
The award ceremony for the Supervisor Award 2023. Photo: Christian Hüller

The Supervisor Award

Awarding the Supervisor Award at Leipzig University aims to express appreciation for excellent supervisors, to make high-quality supervision visible, and to raise awareness of the topic of "standards of good supervision for doctoral researchers".

The Supervisor Award is endowed with 3000 €. The prize money is to be used for the promotion of young researchers and/or for research projects.

The supervisor:

  • concluded a supervision agreement with me, that is being applied by both sides
  • provides financing of my research project resp. supports the finding of adequate financing
  • is available for questions and help, has sufficient time for supervisory talks
  • provides coherent and adequate methodological and subject-specific support
  • imparts measures of good scientifc practice (e.g. document results, scrutinise research results critically, honesty, prevent scientific misconduct)
  • promotes completion of dissertation within a reasonable timeframe
  • supports the exchange with other doctoral researchers e.g. colloquia
  • supports (and finances) participation in conferences/summer schools/workshops and qualification offers
  • provides networking opportunities with internationally renowned researchers in his/her discipline
  • supports publications in journals, proceedings, etc.
  • points out academic and non-academic job opportunities



The 2023 Supervisor Award was won by:


The following supervisors were nominated for the short-list and thus receive a certificate of recognition:

  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Schmukle
  • Prof. Dr. Elisa Hoven
  • Prof. Dr. Nico Eisenhauer
  • Prof. Dr. Boris P. Paal
  • Prof. Dr. Brigitte Latzko
  • Prof. Dr. Uta Felten
  • Prof. Dr. Kim Lange-Schubert
enlarge the image: Prof. Kohlmann spricht vor einem Bildschirm
enlarge the image: Group photo



enlarge the image: Award winners on stairs in front of Villa Tillmanns


What the 2021 award winners themselves have to say about the Supervisor Award:

Prof. Dr. Anja Mehnert-Theuerkauf

Prof. Dr. Dr. Simone Fietz

Prof. Dr. Christoph Baums

You may also like

Supervision Agreement

Read more

Information for Doctoral Researchers

Read more

About the Research Academy Leipzig

Read more